Week7- Interview Artist-Andre Ritter

In Andre Ritter work of metal smiths, There are a lot of multiple A-ha”! moment where the artist discover something in that time and beginning to work in a new direction. Ritter is in love with the mid-century modern lifestyle and motifs, and the alluring aesthetic of TIKI. He also talk about the creative of conundrum can be found in the two seminal life experiences that influenced him to travel in this path. Also, I found himself really fortunate to have been born after the decade of the “atomic age”, after the WWII. His affinity for south pacific culture and iconography became a piece of his life and it is a result of eight years living in Hawaii. Through his experiences living in an islands, he can encapsulate and share his passions through his metallic creations. Ritter also explains the material needed to make an metallic creations through many mixed and combined of media pieces. He hope that us as the viewer can have our own A-ha! moment when looking as his creations and start bring back the pleasant memories of our childhood. It is also a starting point for something amazing will happen through the A-ha! moment.

For me personally, I would never though that someone could do something so amazingly like Ritter did. Unlike Ritter, I don’t many A-ha! moment and then start to do something is a new direction after finding that path to success .I don’t think I can spend time working on an amazing creation because I am a very impatient person since I always rush through things and it is really different for me to work with metals material and combine them with our own knowledge to make it come to life. I was glad that I came to the Art Gallery show and be able to find many amazing creations that artists put all their time and effort doing something that they love and enjoying it every moments. Although I am not good at art and creating amazing art work, but I can tell that’s really a fun things to do and using metals material to make something that related to a cultural of a country and well as the past.  I’m looking forward to seeing more in the near future.

IMG_20150305_110358 IMG_20150305_111835

Leave a Reply

